Importance of reading – Wilf Books – Review and Giveaway

“The more you read, the more things you will know

The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go” Dr Suess

Reading for me has played a really important role in my life. It has helped me through some of the most toughest times and continues to still help. One thing I want my boys to pick up from me is my love of books. Nothing beats relaxing with a cup of tea and a good book to read, the turning of the crisp pages as you finish each page. When Wilf Books asked me if I would like to review their monthly subscription box I jumped at the chance. You can never have too many books and I absolutely loved their ethos.

“Raise them with Kindness”

Wilf books is a monthly subscription service started by Callum and Amelia which sends out good quality books to children each month. They arrive  personally addressed to the child with a lovely hand painted name card. The books are hand wrapped in Tissue paper sealed with a lovely sticker featuring Wilf the Elephant. It really is the small touches that makes it great! When you sign up to Wilf Books you input your child’s details and their DOB so the books are age appropriate, you also have the opportunity to share your child’s interests, which helps when choosing their books.

With each delivery included is a freepost return bag. The bag can be used to return books which either don’t interest your child or you already own (you get an extra book in your next delivery) alternatively, you can choose to send any of your personal books to Wilf. The books could be ones which your child no longer loves and you think others would enjoy. A great way to share books with other families.

Our Wilf Books delivery

Wilf books

The parcel was addressed personally to Arthur and he loved it! He couldn’t wait to rip it open, unfortunately we didn’t realise that there would be writing on the inside of the box. It read –

Today you are you, That is truer than true,

There is no-one alive, who is you’er than you!

Dr Seuss from Happy Birthday To You

It was such a great touch and with it being handwritten you know time has been taken to package your parcel. Which if buying as a gift is important to factor in! Arthur instantly picked up this card which was hand painted with his name. On reverse is a note which thanks you for purchasing the books.

According to the website you also get either stickers and/or an activity and a Wilf sharing chart. We didn’t receive either of these.

 

The books

Arthur ripped open the tissue paper and the books wrapped inside were these!

 

Wilf books

Arthur (and his brothers too!) are really into animal stories which all 3 books feature. The stories are all a great length to read and we don’t own any of them. So they will make a great addition to our book collection. Arthur’s favourite book is called “The River” which is about a little fish on her journey downriver. The book is a rhyming book (which I love to read) and is illustrated lovely.

Overall

Arthur loves his books! The text is easy for him to understand which also makes it easy for his brother to read to him. We love talking about the stories, looking at the pictures and generally the time we spend together reading with each other.

The subscription costs £19.95 a month which for what you get is a bit of a bargain! It really is a great way to introduce a variety of different books to your collection.

Giveaway

Enter our giveaway to be in with a chance of winning a month subscription! Make sure to check the Terms and Conditions on Rafflecopter

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

**Wilf Books sent 1 months subscription to us for the benefit of this review**

51 Comments

  1. Clare Hubbard
    30th March 2017 / 4:26 pm

    This would be fantastic for my son, he loves his books

  2. aj
    30th March 2017 / 8:03 pm

    would be great for my son and niece.

  3. Angela Treadway
    30th March 2017 / 8:38 pm

    both my boys x

  4. Jules Eley
    30th March 2017 / 8:44 pm

    My daughter sophia!

  5. iain maciver
    30th March 2017 / 11:00 pm

    my nephews

  6. Jennifer Haden
    31st March 2017 / 8:26 am

    My nephew, whose 8 would love this. He’s a big reader, which is so nice!

  7. Katie
    31st March 2017 / 9:06 am

    I love this… and so would my niece!

  8. Amy Fidler
    31st March 2017 / 9:57 am

    My God daughter would x

  9. jo liddement
    1st April 2017 / 3:08 pm

    The subscription would be enjoyed by my son who loves books

  10. Lorna Ledger
    1st April 2017 / 3:10 pm

    My lovely Nephew – Joe 🙂 x

  11. amy bondoc
    1st April 2017 / 7:21 pm

    id love to read the books to my nephews for their bedtime story!

  12. Elizabeth Hinds
    1st April 2017 / 10:59 pm

    My youngest daughter, Tess, would love them! 🙂

  13. Claire Woods
    2nd April 2017 / 9:51 am

    My niece

  14. karl Borowy
    2nd April 2017 / 2:44 pm

    grandson

  15. Laura Pritchard
    2nd April 2017 / 6:29 pm

    Both my 6 year old son & my 2 year old daughter

  16. Ruth Harwood
    3rd April 2017 / 9:26 am

    My 5 year old is a real bookworm!!

  17. Sally Collingwood
    4th April 2017 / 12:16 pm

    My granddaughter Skye.

  18. Farhana Chowdhury
    4th April 2017 / 10:49 pm

    My daughter

  19. emma walters
    5th April 2017 / 9:43 am

    my son & daughter would both love this x

  20. claire griffiths
    5th April 2017 / 12:37 pm

    my son would love this

  21. Harline Parkin
    8th April 2017 / 5:42 pm

    My grandsons

  22. Victoria N
    9th April 2017 / 7:50 pm

    My daughter would love this!

  23. Katy Malkin
    12th April 2017 / 7:47 pm

    Our daughter loves reading. Had never heard of this subscription before.

  24. Richard Tyler
    13th April 2017 / 12:19 pm

    My little boy

  25. janine atkin
    13th April 2017 / 2:26 pm

    my nephew would enjoy this

  26. Kim M
    14th April 2017 / 5:15 pm

    My niece would love them x

  27. michelle o'neill
    18th April 2017 / 6:07 pm

    my grandaughter x

  28. MANDY DOHERTY
    18th April 2017 / 7:05 pm

    My grandson who loves books

  29. Lisa Wilkinson
    19th April 2017 / 11:52 am

    My little girl

  30. Sarah Lee
    20th April 2017 / 8:26 am

    Both my son & daughter would enjoy this

  31. melissa crowe
    21st April 2017 / 10:44 pm

    My two boys would love 🙂 thankyou for the chance,

  32. Lia Burns
    21st April 2017 / 11:19 pm

    My daughter Jessica loves reading every day but gets bored of the same books so she would love this!

  33. Tracey Belcher
    23rd April 2017 / 6:07 pm

    In truth me! but I think my Grandson would too!

  34. Emma Louise Elliott
    23rd April 2017 / 7:34 pm

    I’d love my daughter to be able to enjoy the subscription xxx

  35. Rebecca Howells (@PeanutHog)
    24th April 2017 / 4:38 pm

    My nephew

  36. sheri Darby
    24th April 2017 / 9:15 pm

    My daughter – she loves reading

  37. Tasha Hamilton
    24th April 2017 / 10:16 pm

    My little girl we love reading

  38. Sam Parkes
    25th April 2017 / 10:42 am

    My daughter would absolutely love this… She loves books.

  39. Stephanie Keill
    25th April 2017 / 10:47 am

    Well I have four young kids at home who would all benefit from this amazing Giveaway, we love bedtime stories about treasure adventures and mysteries!

  40. Lori Mckillop
    25th April 2017 / 1:37 pm

    my little boy! Thanks for the great giveaway! ?.? Liked and shared <3

  41. Pamela Gossage
    25th April 2017 / 2:36 pm

    It would be great for my grandson

  42. Kate Davies
    25th April 2017 / 4:42 pm

    My son would enjoy this, he’s a bookworm.

  43. Karen Barrett
    26th April 2017 / 8:21 am

    Perfect for my Grandchildren, thank you.

  44. Sarah Parker
    26th April 2017 / 11:02 am

    My son 🙂

  45. Rebecca Powell
    26th April 2017 / 11:42 am

    My son would love this

  46. Miss Tracy Hanson
    26th April 2017 / 12:24 pm

    My great-niece and great-nephew would love this. Great prize.

  47. ADEINNE TONNER
    26th April 2017 / 3:09 pm

    My friends two young children would enjoy this book subscription

  48. Tammy Neal
    26th April 2017 / 9:16 pm

    Would be great for my neice who loves books x

  49. Tee Simpson
    26th April 2017 / 9:32 pm

    My eldest daughter would love this subscription

  50. Natalie Crossan
    27th April 2017 / 12:21 am

    My daughter – she’s big on books 😀 xxx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.