BeeSmart – My First Lunchbox Wooden Role Play Toy and Wooden Xylophone – Review

When Jack was younger we were inundated with plastic toys and although Jack loved playing with them I was not all that keen. I much preferred to choose wooden toys over plastic ones. I am not completely opposed but it is just my preference.

The BeeSmart My First Lunchbox is a wooden role play toy which includes what you would expect to find in a lunchbox; Sandwich, Drink, and fruit. All brightly coloured and just the right size for smaller hands. My First Lunchbox opens and closes using a simple latch which can be flipped open and close. Arthur at first was a little unsure of how to use it, thinking about it I don’t think he has come across this type of lock before. It didn’t bother him and he was soon opening and closing the lunchbox.

My First Lunchbox

My First Lunchbox

Inside My First Lunchbox, you will find brightly coloured Juice carton, Apple, Banana, Cheese slice, Tomato, Lettuce, Cucumber and Bread. On each piece of the sandwich is a small bit of velcro which lets the pieces all connect. Meaning you do not have to use all the pieces all together. Arthur has been playing with this intently so it is worth me noting that after a few uses the velcro has started to become unstuck, nothing a little bit of glue wouldn’t fix.

My First Lunchbox

Arthur has spent hours playing with the lunchbox creating his sandwiches and pretending to go to work. He even kindly packs us a lunch too! It has been brought out to play several times a day since we received it. It is a much-loved addition to his collection of toy food. The Lunchbox has the recommended age of 36 months up. Personally, I would be happy to let younger children play but with supervision, ensuring that the food was checked regularly for broken, pieces.

My First Lunchbox

Wooden Xylophone

BeeSmart Wooden Xylophone

One of the other toys we were sent was this Wooden Xylophone with Music Sheets. Everyone has enjoyed a go on this, tapping out the tunes to Row, Row, Row your boat and Twinkle Twinkle Little Star.

There are 8 multi coloured metal keys which all display the individual notes. The Sound it makes when the wooden beater hits each key is really lovely sound, not too loud or harsh. I love how the musical sheets are all so colour coded too, so for younger children they can match the colours rather than the notes. The Recommended age is 18months up.

BeeSmart Wooden Xylophone

Where to buy

You can buy the BeeSmart My First Lunchbox either directly or through their Amazon shop.

*I was sent the My First Lunchbox and Wooden Xylophone for the purpose of this review! All opinions are my own*

 

26 Comments

  1. 29th August 2017 / 11:44 am

    This looks fab! We love wooden toys and that xylophone looks like a great toy that will last far longer than plastic toys!

    • 30th August 2017 / 8:59 am

      The quality is great! I love the Xylophone and I can guarantee if you have it on your side then everybody who visits will want a play!

  2. 29th August 2017 / 2:24 pm

    I adore wooden toys and they’re the only ones I end up keeping so love the look of these, beautiful.

    • 30th August 2017 / 8:57 am

      I am slowly replacing all my plastic toys (other than lego and playmobil) to wooden counterparts. I worry that by the time that is done my boys will be too old!

  3. 29th August 2017 / 4:19 pm

    I have to agree, I much prefer wooden toys as well. They just look and feel a lot nicer x

  4. 29th August 2017 / 8:43 pm

    Oh how cute are those toys – I have to admit I love wooden toys, there is something so lovely about them.

    • 30th August 2017 / 8:54 am

      They are cute! I totally get what you mean about wooden toys.

  5. 29th August 2017 / 10:49 pm

    These look like great toys and ones that will last too which is very important when you are gifting children. I hate toys that fall apart in minutes but these look childproof!

    • 30th August 2017 / 8:50 am

      I did have to apply a little glue to velcro part of the sandwich in the lunchbox but other than that it was great. Arthur has really put the toys through their paces!

  6. 30th August 2017 / 12:05 am

    My kids had a great collection of wooden toys. The xylophone is a classic.

    • 30th August 2017 / 8:47 am

      I have loved revisiting my youth playing on the Xylophone. The accompanying music sheets are great too as i am able to pretend to the boys i know how to play!

  7. 30th August 2017 / 1:26 am

    Who doesn’t love a wooden xylophone? I remember when I was a kid I used to play mine avidly haha x

  8. Gareth Torrance
    30th August 2017 / 7:53 am

    Oh wow, what a great idea! I’d never have thought there would be lunchbox toys… And because it is wood, my little girl can have it now 😀

    • 30th August 2017 / 8:46 am

      The lunchbox has been a huge hit with Arthur. He hasn’t put it down!

  9. 30th August 2017 / 10:13 am

    I think wooden toys look so much nicer, and the lunchbox set is adorable, I used to have a kitchen as a kid and would always pack my parents off to work with a packed lunch x

  10. 30th August 2017 / 1:02 pm

    How cute is that wooden lunchbox! Great gift idea for little ones : )

  11. 30th August 2017 / 2:43 pm

    Aw, I love these! Kids should play more with classic wooden toys x

  12. 31st August 2017 / 10:18 am

    Totally agree our house was filled with plastic toys that broke so easily, we started buying wooden toys instead and they have stood the test of time so well and are now being used by my twins

    • 31st August 2017 / 10:47 am

      and can be used for future generations too! (Not saying that plastic ones can’t either)

  13. 31st August 2017 / 7:00 pm

    Great review and I miss the days of playing with wooden toys!

  14. 31st August 2017 / 7:19 pm

    The lunchbox is really cute, glad he enjoyed it so much. Love the colours of the Xylophone and how clear the notes are

  15. 1st September 2017 / 11:26 am

    What awesome tips and I will share this with my sister that first-time mom also I preferred wooden toys for my kids.

  16. 2nd September 2017 / 8:11 pm

    Defiantly great gift ideas to the little ones as the holidays are around the corner, great blog post!

  17. 3rd September 2017 / 3:39 pm

    Aw this is really sweet. I’d have loved this as a kid as I used to play schools all the time with my friends xxz

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.